Words Are Not Enough!

shelbycourtland

words

Words are not enough
I don’t care what you say.
Words get nothing done.
There must be another way.

The words I write don’t matter.
So many words I write each day.
I’ve filled so many pages
but it’s useless what I say.

If I pen a bang ass poem
what difference does it make?
The shit still hits the fan.
And another life they take.

No, words don’t get it done.
They’re useless as can be.
A pen can’t stop a drone
nor does it help a refugee.

Children walk the streets
while I sit and write their story.
Mothers cry all over the world
and my words don’t stop their worry.

You tell me that what I write
will somehow make things right.
I don’t see it that way
as bombs light up the night.

Tell the people of Iraq
that I wrote a poem for them.
Explain…

View original post 96 more words

2 thoughts on “Words Are Not Enough!

Leave a Reply

